Winner Prix Opus 2013-2014
“Jazz Album of the Year”

The album Transit merges the sounds and aesthetics of a string quartet with those of a jazz trio. Together, these two groups provide as much power and intensity as they do intimacy. Percussion elements usually associated with orchestra music, such as timpani drums and tubular bells, are added to the mix. The challenge was to blend the colours of the trio and the string quartet to create a seamless whole. In this spirit of symbiosis, the strings have a more melodic and rhythmical dimension, rather than simply a backup role. So, here, along our path, is a stopover, a transit.

Emie R Roussel Trio

  • Emie Rioux-Roussel: Piano/compositions/arrangments
  • Nicolas Bédard: Accoutic Bass
  • Dominic Cloutier Drums

Quatuor St-Germain

Élise Lavoie: Violin

  • Hugues Laforte Bouchard: Violin
  • Steeve St-Pierre: Viola
  • James Darling: Cello

Julie Quimper: Percussions